Posted by: lornasass | February 9, 2012

SAYING “NO” TO THE iPHONE

I’ll admit it, dear Reader, I’m a late adopter.  Learning new technology doesn’t come easily to me and I resist it.  (The good news is that by the time I get around to opting in, the gizmo has gotten cheaper, lighter, and more efficient.)

Frankly, over the last six months I began to feel increasingly embarrassed that I didn’t have the newer, better, lighter iPhone.  Everyone seems to have one (or another kind of Smart phone) and be glued to it.  Not having google at my constant beck and call was feeling stranger by the minute, and did I dare be among the diminishing numbers parted from e-mail for hours at a time?

So two weeks ago, after spending a strange 1 1/2 hours accomplishing nothing at the Verizon store, I dragged myself to the Apple big box and stood in the bright lights, reminding myself how lucky I was that the latest iPhones were in stock.  After all, everyone I asked was so excited about the 4S, with Siri to boss around and all the other wonders that this new model offered.

I had the vague idea, I guess, that the iPhone would somehow simplify my life.  Isn’t that what new technology is supposed to do?

Well, dear Reader, you can probably hear what’s coming.  I hated the “getting to know your iPhone” intro they offered at the store.  I found the keyboard way too small and the print on the screen even smaller.  Almost every thing you had to click or slide seemed counter-intuitive to me.  I grudgingly slogged through the lesson with the amazingly patient young instructor (who no doubt cannot even conceive of life without an iPhone), but as soon as I got home, I tucked the gadget on a closet shelf and proceeded to ignore it for the next two weeks, taking solace in the familiarity of my old cell phone–which I rarely use, by the way.

So guess what?  Tomorrow I am going to return my iPhone.

 I am pleased that this little experiment will have cost me only a modest amount of time and a small re-shelving fee.

Here’s what I learned:

1) I don’t want to spend my free time even tempted to look at another screen.

2)I actually LOVE taking frequent breaks from e-mail.

3)I don’t need or want to have instant access to more information.  I already have access to more information than I can comfortably handle.

4)I don’t want to become one of those people who checks Facebook during intermissions at a Broadway play.

5)I don’t want to be part of one of those couples that sits eating dinner, each in his own virtual world.

6) Best of all, I now know that I can live a happier and more fulfilling life without an i-Phone.

Now the iPad:  that could be another story…


Responses

  1. Information everyone should be aware of when making the choice about buying an iPhone… Apple’s abominable environmental and abhorrent labor practices. In a study done by a Chinese, no less, organization, Apple ranked dead last in responsiveness.
    I am all for companies making a profit. Only I’m thinking they could probably afford to pay workers more than a few dollars per day to make their phones by hand.
    Do a search for yourself.

  2. Thanks for bringing this up, Deborah. It points to the fact there there are other considerations beyond the personal ones when it comes to making a purchase. I saw Mike Daisy’s The Agony and The Ecstasy of Steve Jobs and he spoke about witnessing the horrible working conditions in the Chinese factories producing Apple products. I’m sure that unfortunately Apple is far from alone in exploiting workers.

  3. I love this. So funny, and so true!

  4. […] and won’t turn it back on until Monday morning.  (And anyone who happened to read my recent post knows that I don’t have an […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

