Posted by: lornasass | March 13, 2012

MY COMPUTER FAST

Two weekends ago, I announced on this blog my intention to shut down my computer on a Thursday night as an experiment.  My idea was to see what life was like when it wasn’t punctuated by reading e-mail, Tweeting, Facebooking, and doing google searches.  Here’s what I discovered:

1)  I had a lot more time–at least four hours a day by conservative estimate.  This was shocking to discover and delicious to experience.

2) I felt a sense of spaciousness and ease in my day:  I seemed to flow more smoothly from one thing to the next without stopping by to check the computer for new e-mails.  I felt a little like a was on a retreat…

3) I’ve come to use the computer as my telephone book, so I needed to turn it on briefly two times over the weekend to check addresses and phone numbers.

4) It’s much easier to arrange a meeting with a friend over the telephone than to bounce dates back and forth by e-mail.

5) My back and eyes like moving around a whole lot better than sitting in front of the computer.

6) My 1500+ Facebook friends didn’t notice my absence…

Overall, the experience was so positive that I have decided to turn my computer off from Saturday night until Sunday night every week, making Sunday my computer Sabbath.  I love the idea of having a Sabbath, and my Sweetie is willing to give the experiment a try with me.

I’d love to hear your experiences if you decide to try a similar experiment yourself.

Responses

  1. Brava, Lorna! Your taking the steps away from your computer teach us all.
    Looking forward to seeing an even-more-calm you when in NYC.
    Peace to you and thanks for leading the way.


Leave a Reply

Categories

